Elected Members

Elected Members (Councillors) are elected to represent the interests of residents and ratepayers, provide community leadership and guidance, and facilitate communication between the community and the Council. The Wudinna District Council currently has 7 Councillors:

Cr Eleanor Scholz (Mayor)
Cr Newton Luscombe (Deputy Mayor)
Cr Craig Walladge
Cr Richard DuBois
Cr Naomi Scholz
Cr Candice Lea
Cr Liz Habermann

(For information about the role of elected members, see below.)


Every four years, as set by the State Electoral Office, nominations are called for Councillors to serve on the Wudinna District Council. If the number of nominations received exceed the number of seats, an election is held. Voting in a local government election is not compulsory. For information regarding voting eligibility, contact Council's Corporate Services Manager.

Responsibilities of Councillors

The responsibilities of Councillors include keeping in touch with electors, attending meetings and coordinating community activities.


For the 2018-2022 term, Wudinna District Council Councillors will receive an allowance of $6,500 per year. The Mayor will receive an allowance of $26,000 per year and the Deputy Mayor will receive $8,125 per year. These allowances are prescribed by an independant Remuneration Tribunal and are suject to periodic adjustments each year.

Mayor / Deputy Mayor

The Mayor is the primary representative of our District. The Mayor of the Wudinna District Council is Cr Eleanor Scholz. The Deputy Mayor is Cr Ned Luscombe.

Further Information

For more information on the roles and responsibilities of Elected Members, contact Council's Chief Executive Officer,visit the SA Local Government Association's web site at www.lga.sa.gov.au, or visit the website - 'How Councils Work: A guide to the Rules'.

Elected Member Registers

Please see links for current Registers related to Elected Members

Register of Interests

Register of Allowances, Benefits & Training